The West Midlands South Research Training Collaborative (WMSRTC)

The collaborative model was rolled out across the West Midlands and in March 2016, the West Midlands South Research Training Collaborative (WMSRTC) was formed.  The WMSRTC aims to support reciprocal access to training for the research workforce across the locality and provide a forum whereby collaborating organisations can share best practice, pool learning resources and promote local initiatives in partnership with the network.


The collaborative comes under the Clinical Research Network (CRN) West Midlands Research Training Collaborative (WMRTC), which ensures research staff and clinical teams supporting research can access high quality locally-provided training which is fit for purpose and meets local needs. It aims to complement activities of other training collaboratives and training structures in the West Midlands, which together provide access to training region-wide and support the three NIHR CRN priority areas for organisational and workforce development:

  • Regulation and Safeguarding
  • Delivering Network Business
  • Specialty Specific/Responsive training

The WMSRTC invites collaboration from all research active organisations within the geographical areas encompassing Coventry, Warwickshire, Herefordshire and Worcestershire.   A Collaborator is an organisation which commits to deliver or host or support WMSRTC training.


The WMSRTC is committed to developing the collaborative and ensuring our local researchers have access to good quality, accredited training. The membership of the group includes representation from research nursing, R&D Management, NIHR Networks, and trial management


WMSRTC Members                 WMSRTC Collaborators

Julie Jones (Chair)                                   University Hospitals Coventry & Warwickshire NHS Trust 

Claire Daffern University of Warwick Clinical Trials Unit

Pauline Darbyshire Primary Care CRN West Midlands

Susan Elwell                        Primary Care CRN West Midlands

Judith Lake                                           George Eliot Hospital NHS Trust

Emily Linehan NIHR Clinical Research Network West Midlands

Penny Parsons  South Warwickshire NHS FT

Charlotte Passingham                              NIHR Clinical Research Network West Midlands &

Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust

Katie Peck                                                 Coventry & Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust

Fiona Price                                                Wye Valley NHS Trust